Today’s Meditation

I enjoyed this exercise because it helped me to realize that I had been meditating all along. I recently had a lot of trouble getting to bed at night and I didn’t want to become addicted to some sleep-aid medicine, so my doctor suggested that I focus on breathing and I would fall asleep eventually. A couple of times my thoughts traveled to memories of being in a dentist’s chair and having to breathe in nitrous deeply until I fell asleep. Sleep is my favorite thing in the world to do over anything else, so I think that I will meditate, or focus only on the sounds and movements of my own breaths whenever I need to relax or fall asleep, because I’ll probably become tired anyways. The only thing I didn’t like about today’s meditation is that now I will have a hard time getting through the rest of my school day because I have reached sleep-mode and it’s really hard to return to semi-awareness. As long as I bring all of my thoughts back to breathing at any point that they wander, I should be good at meditating, but I only like it when I can ACTUALLY GO TO SLEEP. Otherwise, it’s exhausting forcing myself to stay awake after. I’m glad Harmon is using this exercise though. It’s all new-age…

Leave a comment