Library Session – 10/9/2012

What did you learn from this library session? What will you take away and use for your research paper?

In today’s class session with our personal librarian I learned a lot about searching for a research topic. The library here provides so many easy ways to search for and narrow down a topic that you may be looking for. Everything I need to start my research is on the JWU library homepage. I think that the most important thing that I will take away from today’s session is how to find and use online concept maps. The concept maps on CREDO not only gives me links to sources, but it shows a summary of these sources and how they relate to one another, all based on a search word that I have provided. Today, I also learned that a database search is much ore reliable than using the world wide web, because all of the sources in a database are credible, and usually published/peer-reviewed before being listed. If I was to use a search engine, such as Google, I could receive information from just about anyone who has access to the internet, whether the information there is true or false.  The JWU library website also provides links to MLA citations and how to develop them for various source types. I know now that the site will be a ‘one stop shop’ location for all of my research papers to come, because it takes away a lot of the guess work and time used doing research on my own. I might even use the library chat box when I get stuck on something, but we’ll see. Before coming to this session my research topic was very broad and almost unmanageable, now I have a question from which to develop my thesis.

Leave a comment